Is it humility I seek?

20/08/2016

I speak of attaining humility,
and closeness to Allah.
Yet I cannot say for sure,
that I have a heart pure,
untainted of greed,
free from envy,
empty of bigotry,
or indeed pride,
of real or imaginary,
knowledge and social status.

Will I not try to better myself;
should I not seek;
humility in comprehension,
iron out the double standards,
eliminate complacency,
root out the hypocrisy,
and strive to align,
in action and speech?

Truth is,
I know that I am lost,
without Allah my Anchor,
His Prophet my Guide,
His infinite mercy,
My only Hope.

Leave a Reply

